MOBILE USERS: m.isthmus.com
Connect with Isthmus on Twitter · Facebook · Flickr · Newsletters 
Wednesday, April 23, 2014 |  Madison, WI: 34.0° F  Fair
Collapse Photo Bar

Frequency's back room

Who's making noise in and around Madison? What's new in the business of making music around town? Review shows and CDs here. Please keep all hype in Hype Exchange.

Frequency's back room

Postby satta » Mon Nov 16, 2009 3:28 pm

Any opinions on the whole not charging a cover at the front door...
Seems to me like the bands would make a lot more money if anyone coming in had to pay.
I like Darwin and what he's done with the place so I'm not trying to piss in his cornflakes, but I'm curious what other musicians think of this.
I personally know a few people who won't play there because of this issue. I see how it is good for the venue but I like to see musicians get paid.
satta

Re: Frequency's back room

Postby wallrock » Mon Nov 16, 2009 3:38 pm

I'm not a musician, but I do try to see live music whenever possible and I do know that not paying a cover at the door has been a good thing amongst my circle of friends. On several occasions I've gotten a friend to catch a show at the Frequency by telling them that we could grab a beer at the bar without paying cover, and if they weren't into it we could bail. More often than not after a song or two we'd end up going in. For me, I've got to see the band, not just hear them play.
wallrock
Forum God/Goddess

Postby jjoyce » Mon Nov 16, 2009 3:46 pm

On the flip side, as a consumer, I'm not sure I'd be cool with paying to NOT be able to even see the band. This allows the business to generate some extra revenue, which allows him to stay in business and maybe even take some chances on bands.

Plus, I gotta think that bands refusing to play the room because of this have messed up priorities. What are they giving up? $20? $30 on a good night?
jjoyce
Forum God/Goddess

Postby talagaster » Mon Nov 16, 2009 4:03 pm